Take Courses
Get Certified
Attend Events
Explore Resources


CBCA-Banner image

Certified Business Continuity Auditor (CBCA)

Apply for Certification

The Certified Business Continuity Auditor is that specialist who can verify the effectiveness of an organization's business continuity program against the landscape of standards, guidelines and industry regulations. Internally or externally, the CBCA demonstrates an ability to validate and evaluate plans based on any applicable standard. Auditors carrying the CBCA certification are unique among auditors as they do their work in an environment of adapting and changing standards. This designation can be jointly held with other certifications that we offer.

The Certification Process

The CBCA certification is for those professionals that can demonstrate knowledge and experience in the fields of business continuity planning, emergency management and/or audit.

There is a prerequisite course requirement for the Auditor Qualifying Examination.

Application Waiver: For those holding current certifications with DRI International, ISACA and ISC2 organizations (CBCP, MBCP, CFCP, CISA, CISSP, CISM, CGEIT), a portion of the experience section of the application will be waived.

CBCA Certification Details

Prerequisite Exam
Application Fee
Annual Renewal Fee
Years of Experience
Subject Matter Area Essays (SMEs)
References Required
2 per subject matter area
Waivers Available
Reference requirements waived for: CFCP, CBCP, MBCP, CISA, CISSP, CISM or CGEIT (in Good Standing)
CBCA flowchart image

To apply for CBCA certification, all applicants must:

  1. Possess at least two years of significant, practical experience.
  2. Pass the Auditor Examination.
  3. Complete the Online Application for Professional Certification by logging into your DRI account.
  4. Provide references to confirm your experience in business continuity planning, emergency and disaster management and/or audit. Experience must have occurred within a ten-year period from your application date.

Important Note: Inform your references about your application. Ask for their prompt assistance when DRI International requests validation of your experience and subject area pages. Incomplete applications cause delays in the process, and we may require additional steps and requests to you for additional information.
Once your references have validated your experience, the Certification Commission will review your application. This review may also prompt the Certification Commission to contact you for additional information.

About References

Applicants must provide the names and contact information for at least two individuals who can document your experience in each Subject Area.

The total number of references you provide can be as few as two (if both references can attest to all your required subject areas), or many more (if different references are provided for each of your required subject areas).

Additional references may be provided to save processing time, if the first two references cannot provide verification.

List all the references you need to document your minimum two years of required experience. Some individuals will list several, while others may list only two. Just make sure that the references you select can verify a minimum of two (2) years of your business continuity experience.

For additional details regarding certification levels and recertification requirements, please go to the FAQ section, email driinfo@drii.org or call +1-866-542-3744.

Important Note: This entire process can take several weeks. DRI International contacts all applicants upon approved. Once approved, professional certification status and recertification period documents are provided. If you are not approved and wish to re-apply, contact the Certification Department for additional information on how to re-apply.

Certification Maintenance

Recertification is required for all certifications levels. Regular recertification requires an ongoing commitment to continuing education and industry activities. A yearly maintenance fee is required for all certification levels.

There are 80 CEAPs required for CBCA.