Take Courses
Get Certified
Attend Events
Explore Resources
CPSCP Certification Image

Certified Public Sector Continuity Professional (CPSCP)

Apply for Certification

The CPSCP level is for individuals with two or more years of industry experience in public sector recovery planning and has successfully passed the Public Sector Examination. A senior public official such as the city emergency manager or an employee of a government contractor may acquire this credential to demonstrate their knowledge and experience in all aspects of public sector continuity and recovery planning.

The Certified Public Sector Continuity Professional is for professionals that have demonstrated both the knowledge of and experience in public sector continuity/disaster recovery. These professionals have been working in or with the public sector as leaders and are looking for the recognition that comes with certification.

The Certification Process

CPSCP certification is for individuals who have demonstrated knowledge and working experience in public sector continuity planning. Qualified applicants should have more than two (2) years of experience. Must be able to demonstrate specific and practical experience in at least five (5) of the subject matter areas of the Professional Practices. To maintain the credential, the professional is required to make an ongoing commitment to continuing education and industry activities.

Application Waiver: For those holding current certifications with DRI International (CBCP or MBCP) a portion of the experience section of the application will be waived.

CPSCP Certification Details

Prerequisite Exam
Prerequisite Course
Application Fee
Annual Renewal Fee
Years of Experience
Subject Matter Area Essays (SMEs)
References Required
2 per subject matter area
Waivers Available
Reference requirements waived for: CBCP, MBCP
CPSCP Certification Flowchart

To apply for CPSCP certification, all applicants must:

  1. Possess at least two years of significant, practical experience.
  2. Pass the Public Sector Examination with a minimum score of 75%.
  3. After receiving notification of a passing score, complete the Online Application for Professional Certification by logging into your DRI account.
  4. Complete application essays focused on your public sector/business continuity responsibilities and accomplishments. Experience must have occurred within a ten-year period from your application date. At least two of the five selected subject matter essays MUST draw from:
    1. Subject Area 3: Mission Function Identification and Analysis
    2. Subject Area 4: Continuity of Operations Plan Development
    3. Subject Area 6: Tests, Training, and Exercises (TT&E)
    4. Subject Area 7: Continuity Plan Maintenance and Audit
  5. Provide references to confirm your experience. Experience must have occurred within a ten-year period from your application date.

Important Note: Inform your references about your application. Ask for their prompt assistance when DRI International requests validation of your experience and subject area pages. Incomplete applications cause delays in the process, and we may require additional steps and requests from you for additional information.

Once your references have validated your experience, the commissioners will review your application. This review may also prompt the commissioners to contact you for additional information.

About References

Applicants must provide the names and contact information of at least two individuals who can document their experience in each subject area. The total number of references you provide can be as few as two (if both references can attest to all your required subject areas), or many more (if different references are provided for each of your required subject areas). Additional references may be provided to save processing time, if the first two references cannot provide verification.

List all the references you need to document your minimum two years of the required experience. Some individuals will list several, while others may list only two. Just make sure that the references you select can verify a minimum of two (2) years of your business continuity experience. For additional details regarding certification levels and recertification requirements, please go to the FAQ section, email driinfo@drii.org or call +1-866-542-3744.

Important Note: This entire process can take several weeks. DRI International contacts all applicants upon approval. Once approved, professional certification status and recertification period documents are provided. If you are not approved and wish to re-apply, contact Certification Department for additional information on how to re-apply.

Applicants are reminded that all course, exam, and results materials are confidential and should not be shared online or with other certified professionals. Sharing exam materials may result in revocation of existing certification credentials and possible legal action. All Certified Professionals must comply with the DRI International Code of Ethics to remain in good standing.

Certification Maintenance

Recertification is required for all certification levels. Regular recertification requires an ongoing commitment to continuing education and industry activities. There is a yearly maintenance fee for all certification levels. There are 80 CEAPs required for CPSCP.